An Essex Wife Loves……Cooking with Levi Roots

After the festive period I am always gagging to ditch the roasting pans and get back to food that I actually enjoy cooking.  As soon as all the leftovers were finished on December 28th I ceased the opportunity to crack open my favourite cookbook and make a curry.

If you like experimenting with herbs and spices then Levi is the man for you!!  Both his books ‘Caribbean Made Easy’ and ‘Food for Friends’ are used on a weekly basis in my house, I love them!

My favourite dish, which I actually had for dinner last night, is hands down ‘Gingered up Chicken Pasta’

Gingered up Chicken Pasta Recipe

Serves 4

2 Chicken Breasts cut into 5cm cubes

2 Finly Chopped Spirng Onions

4 tbsp Ginger Wine

Juice of 1 lime

1 tsp lime

Grinding of pepper

1 tbsp sunflower oil

½ Garlic clove finely chopped

1 finely chopped Scotch bonnet chilli

2 beef tomatos roughtly chopped

100g tagliatelle per person

  1. Season the chicken  with the spring onion, ginger wine, lime juice, salt and pepper and cover in the fridge for 45 minuites
  2. Pour the oil in a wok placed over a high heat. Add the chilli and the garlic, stiring at all times so they do not burn, for about 2 mins untill you can smell the amazing fragrances. Then remove them from the oil and discard them.  Remove the Chicken from marinade and and stir fry untill lightly browned. Add the tomatos and mariade, stir well, put a lid on the wok and then simmer for about 10 minuites untill chocken is fully cooked.
  3. Meanwhile cook the tagatellie accordning to the packet instructions. Once cooked drain, toss with a little olive oil and then the chicken and sauce, serve on four places and enjoy!
5 thoughts on “An Essex Wife Loves……Cooking with Levi Roots

  1. Lucky you finishing your leftovers before the end of December! I made a quiche yesterday with cheeses still lurking around!
    I must try some of Levi’s stuff, I haven’t yet.
    Thanks for joining in Foodie Friday

  2. I think it would be great with tofu or quorn pieces. Those bonnets are hot. I once roasted them thinking they were baby peppers and gave them to Mr Dad with his roast dinner … what happened next made me cry with laughter all evening whilst Mr Dad refused to talk to me for the rest of the day!

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Cookbooks | An Essex Wife

Leave a Reply

